Zambia is located in the southern / central part of Africa.  It is right atop the countries of Zimbabwe and Botswana and is right below Tanzania.  Zambia is home to many spectacular wonders of nature and treats visitors to Africa with one of the greatest opportunities to encounter wildlife and other features of nature. Zambia is also home to Victoria Falls which is one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Below you will find a list of the natural wonders of Zambia.  You can navigate this page to learn about the amazing wonders of nature that are located in this African country.

Victoria Falls
Victoria Falls is one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World and is located on the border between Zambia and Zimbabwe. Victoria Falls is the largest waterfall in the world. Statistically speaking, it measures one mile (1.7 km) wide and 360 feet (108 meters) high making it the largest single sheet of flowing water. Victoria Falls is also call Mosi-oa-Tunya which translates into “smoke that thunders.”

The Zambezi River serving as the source for the falls. Both countries provide national parks to protect the falls. Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park on the Zambia side of the falls also provides an opportunity for a wildlife encounter with an array of different species including the rare white rhino. Visitors may also encounter buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, and hippo along with a variety of birds.

Victoria Falls is both a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the 7 Natural Wonders of the world.

South Luangwa National Park
South Luangwa National Park lies in the central eastern side of Zambia. It is frequently recognized as one of the most magnificent opportunities to encounter wildlife in the entire world. The Luangwa River runs through the heart of the park and combined with ox bow lagoons, it creates a haven for wildlife.

South Luangwa national park has the claim for originating the “walking safari.” There are over 60 different animal species and over 400 different birds to experience here at the park. Some of the wildlife includes lion, leopard, buffalo, and elephant (4 of big 5), hippos, baboons, zebra, giraffe, vervet monkeys, jackal, crocodile, eland, roan, sable and variety of other antelope.

Lower Zambezi National Park
Lower Zambezi National Park is the newest recognized national park in Zambia and subsequently is the least developed making it a more exotic and wild encounter with nature. Although the park is less diverse in wildlife, visitors can expect great encounters with wildlife. The park lies in the south east part of Zambia right across the Mana Pools in Zimbabwe creating a wildlife haven.

The park covers 4,092 square kilometers and features a variety of terrain. The park features enormous herds of elephant along with lion, leopard and buffalo giving visitors four of the “Big 5.” Other wildlife includes hippos, waterbuck, eland, zebra, crocodiles, kudu, roan, and the beautiful Fish Eagle.

Kafue National Park
Kafue National Park is located in the western middle part of Zambia and is a seasonal national park. Much of the park is underwater during the rainy season as the plains actually serve as a low level slow moving river. As the waters begin to recede, the park opens to unique boating experiences and encounters with wildlife as they make their way back to the area.

Kafue National Park is home to lion, leopard, elephant of the “Big 5,” and is also home to cheetah and wild dog. Safari goers may encounter hartebeest, sable, puku, wildebeest, waterbuck, reedbuck, lechwe, roan, bush pig, crocodiles and around 470 species of birds.

North Luangwa National Park
North Luangwa National Park is the most remote and primitive national parks in Zambia and requires a guide to experience the nature this area has to offer. With little to no development, no permanent lodges, it gives visitors and opportunity to experience the wilds of Africa that way it was originally. Walking safaris help create spectacular encounters with nature.

Wildlife in the area includes lion, leopard, elephant, and buffalo for those pursuing the “Big 5.” Other wildlife includes hyena, warthog, baboon, vervet monkey, impala, reedbuck, eland, hartebeest, wildebeest, bushbuck and zebra. North Luangwa is also home to one of the most diverse birds of southern Africa.